autohitch logo

Car Repossession Laws By State

Car Repossession Laws Vary from state to state. Here is a quick summary table that tells you the state, when someone can legally order a repossession, and a summary of the process.

Related Articles to Read:

StateWhen Repossession Can OccurRepossession Process
AlabamaVaries depending on loan/lease terms; see contractMay repossess without court order if no breach of peace
AlaskaAfter 1 missed payment; see contractMay disable or repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
ArizonaAfter 1 missed payment, lender can accelerate loanMay repossess/disable on property without court order if no breach of peace
ArkansasAs soon as in default, e.g. 1 missed paymentMay disable or repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
CaliforniaAfter 1 missed paymentMay repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
Colorado10 days after missed payment; 20 day notice periodMay disable or repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
ConnecticutAs soon as in default; 10 day repo notice requiredMay disable or repossess on property without court order
DelawareAs soon as miss a payment; see contractMay disable or repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
FloridaAs soon as in default, e.g. 1 missed paymentMay take possession/disable on property without court order if no breach of peace
GeorgiaAfter 1 missed payment typicallyMay disable or repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
HawaiiVaries by contractMay disable or repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
Idaho10 days after default; 10 day notice periodMay disable or repossess on property without court order; may pursue legal action
IllinoisAfter 1 missed paymentMay disable or repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
IndianaUpon default on terms like missed payment or no insuranceMay disable or repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
Iowa10+ days late; 20 day notice periodMay disable or repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
Kansas10+ days late; notice periodMay disable or repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
KentuckyUpon falling behind on paymentsMay disable or repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
LouisianaUpon default per contract termsMay take possession/disable on property without court order if no breach of peace
Maine10+ days late; notice periodMay disable or repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
MarylandAfter 1 missed payment; notices may be requiredMay disable or repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
Massachusetts10+ days late; 21 day notice periodMay repossess on private/public property without court order if no breach of peace
MichiganUpon default per contractMay disable or repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
MinnesotaAs soon as late paymentMay disable or repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
MississippiUpon default per contractMay disable/repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
Missouri10+ days late; 20 day notice periodMay disable/repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
MontanaUpon default per contractRules vary for reservations; may wait off reservation to repossess
NebraskaAs soon as miss payment; notice periodMay disable/repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
Nevada30+ days lateMay disable/repossess on private property without court order if no breach of peace
New Hampshire10+ days late per contractMay disable/repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
New JerseyUpon default per contractMay disable/repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
New MexicoUpon default per contractMay disable/repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
New YorkUpon default per contractMay disable/repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
North CarolinaUpon default per contractMay repossess/disable on property without court order
North DakotaAs early as 1 missed payment per contractMay disable/repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
OhioUpon default on payments per contractMay disable/repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
OklahomaUpon default per contractMay disable/repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
OregonUpon default per contractMay disable/repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
PennsylvaniaUpon falling behind on payments per contractMay disable/repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
Rhode Island10+ days late; notice periodMay disable/repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
South CarolinaUpon falling behind; notice may be requiredMay disable/repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
South DakotaUpon default; notice may be requiredMay disable/repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
TennesseeUpon default per contractMay disable/repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
TexasUpon default per contractMay disable/repossess without court order if no breach of peace
UtahUpon default on paymentsMay disable/repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
VermontUpon default per contractMay repossess/disable on property without court order if no breach of peace
Virginia10+ days late; no notice requiredMay disable/repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
WashingtonUpon default per contract; no notice requiredMay repossess/disable on property without court order if no breach of peace
Washington DCAfter missed payment; 10 day noticeMay disable/repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
West Virginia5+ days late; notice may be requiredMay disable/repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
WisconsinTypically 10+ days late; 15 day noticeMay disable/repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
WyomingUpon default per contract; no notice requiredMay disable/repossess on property without court order if no breach of peace
Car Repossession By State Quick Reference Guide

Sources For this Guide

You might also be interested in reading:

Steve Momot - Author

Steve Momot - Author

Steve, a seasoned expert in the automotive industry, formerly held a car dealer license in Florida. With extensive experience spanning across car trading and mechanical work, he founded Autohitch. His mission? To guide both buyers and sellers through the intricate maze of car purchasing, ensuring a seamless and informed experience. Outside of the automotive world, Steve has a passion for fishing and capturing the beauty of nature through photography.

Linkedin

Share on.

wpChatIcon